Rugby World Cup 2019: What Should You Expect?

Rugby World Cup 2019
Former World Rugby Players of the Year Bryan Habana of South Africa (R) and Shane Williams of Wales (L) pose with the Webb Ellis Cup during a 100 Day to Go Kick-Off event for the Rugby World Cup 2019 in Tokyo on June 12, 2019. (Photo by Kazuhiro NOGI / AFP) (Photo credit should read KAZUHIRO NOGI/AFP/Getty Images)

Rugby World Cup 2019 is fast approaching. The international tournament is going to see various countries battle it out for the prestigious title.  And if you are on Betway, you are surely looking forward to it. Yes, just like other games on Betway, the Betway rugby betting is going to be popular, and Betway will take a look why.

Rugby World Cup 2019

Here is all you should know about the event, so that you can get started on your betting journey. Rugby is an exciting sport and there is never a dull moment. In short, you should be prepared for the Rugby world cup, right? So, what is it that you need to take a look at? Here is a look.

What Can You Expect from The Rugby World Cup Qualifiers?

As many as twenty teams have secured their spot in Rugby World Cup 2019. Twelve of these teams automatically qualified after they finished top three in each of the four groups during the last tournament held in 2015. The 13 teams are; New Zealand, South Africa, Australia, Italy, Georgia, Scotland, Ireland, Wales, France, England, Japan, and Argentina.

The rest of the seven out of eight spots were filled thanks to regional and cross-regional matches. Russia qualified for the World Cup after finishing at the top of the rank in Europe. However, the events were full of controversy after Belgium and Spain were banned after fielding ineligible players. Fiji and Tonga qualified after finishing the top two teams in the Pacific Nations. The other teams that are in the World Cup include the USA, Uruguay, Namibia, Canada, and Samoa.

Embed from Getty Images

The Pool stages

During the first round, teams have been divided into four pools/groups; A, B, C and D. Each pool has five teams with a single robin round of ten games. Every team in each group has to play a match against one another. The teams will be awarded points in the following manner;

  1. The teams will get a good four points when they win a match
  2. For a draw, each team will get two points
  3. If a team loses with eight or more points, then there will be no points awarded
  4. A bonus point will be awarded in two situations – when a team scores more than four tries in a single match and when a team loses with less than eight points.

The top two teams which finish at the top of their pool will automatically qualify for the quarterfinals. These will take place in October. The rest of the three teams at the bottom of the group will get an automatic qualification for the 2023 Rugby World Cup which will be held in France.

Who will be hosting the Rugby World Cup 2019?

Japan will be hosting Rugby World Cup 2019. There are twelve venues which have been selected throughout the country to host the tournament. This will be from Kumamoto City to Sapporo City. Fans will always be close to the matches.

When is the international competition taking place?

The Rugby World Cup will begin on September 20 and end on November 2, 2019. The quarterfinals will be held from October 19 to 20 while the semifinals will be held on October 26-27. The Bronze final for third place will take place on November 1. The Rugby World Cup 2019 Final will take place on 2 November.

“Main Photo:”
Embed from Getty Images



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.