2018 Rugby World Cup Sevens Spots Confirmed after Sudamerica 7s Series

2018 Rugby World Cup Sevens
South Africa (green) and Chile (red) battle for a win during the HSBC Canada Sevens Vancouver tournament at BC Place Stadium in Vancouver, March 11th, 2017. South Africa won 33-0. / AFP PHOTO / Don MacKinnon (Photo credit should read DON MACKINNON/AFP/Getty Images)

All the remaining spots for the 2018 Rugby World Cup Sevens tournament in San Francisco have now been officially confirmed. Chile and Uruguay were the last two sides to confirm their places, after this weekends Sudamerica 7s series.

With the final weekend just completed, both Chile and Uruguay have done enough to seal their names in the World Rugby schedule. They will now join the 24 Men’s, and 16 Women’s sides who will fight for world supremacy.

The two sides will now need to further develop their squad depth, after the Sudamerica series. Uruguay have a proud history in the XV’s game – featuring at the 2015 tournament in England – so will need to invest resources into the group. Chile too have a good pedigree; they played at the Canada Sevens tournament in 2017 (see main picture) so have faced the likes of the World Series champions South Africa before.

If they are looking to match teams who compete on the HSBC Sevens Series, each qualified team needs to aim for the highest level, when the RWC7s begins in July.

2018 Rugby World Cup Sevens Qualifier Stages Complete

The final teams were confirmed after Regional Tournaments all over the world. It is a mixture of traditional rugby powerhouse nations and upcoming nations who will give their all.

In the Men’s competition, North America has three sides so does South America. Oceania and Europe have six sides with Africa four. Rising rugby region Asia has two nations representing them.

In the Women’s category, Europe has five sides with Oceania four. On the other hand, Asia has two, with North America three. Africa and South America have one apiece.

Quick Tap: Origins Of Rugby Sevens Rugby

Men’s Qualified Teams

Asia – Japan and Hong Kong

Africa – South Africa, Kenya, Uganda, Zimbabwe

Europe – England, Wales, Scotland, France, Russia and Ireland

North America – Canada, United States of America and Jamaica

South America – Argentina, Uruguay and Chile

Oceania – New Zealand, Fiji, Australia, Samoa, Papua New Guinea and Tonga.

Women’s Qualified Team

Asia -Japan and China

Africa – South Africa

Europe – Ireland, England, France, Spain and Russia

North America – Canada, United States and Mexico

South America – Brazil

Oceania – New Zealand, Australia, Fiji and Papua New Guinea.

Note: New Zealand are the current holders of both world titles.


South Africa Academy Clean-Sweeps Sudamerica 7s Circuit

South Africa Academy won the two-leg Sudamerica 7s circuit. They defeated Chile in Uruguay, before humbling the France Development squad in the final leg in Chile, last weekend.

The Marius Schoeman coached SA Academy side was a class above the rest. Even though they lost to Ireland on Day One of the Chile tourney the strength of the group was clear to see.

South Africa Academy defeated France Development in the Vina Del Mar Sevens in Chile 34-7. They take the title from Fiji Barbarians (who were missing this year).

“We are delighted in the outcome of the trip.” 

“Not only did the squad play to their full potential on Sunday to win the title, we also ticked other important boxes like blooding new players into the system, and confirming the belief that our sevens structures are sound,” said South Africa coach Marius Schoeman, to rwcsevens.com


The 2018 Rugby World Cup Sevens tournament begins on July 20-22.

“Main photo credit”
Embed from Getty Images


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.