Rugby World Cup History: New Zealand (excerpt 2015)

Rugby World Cup History: New Zealand (excerpt 2015)

With the 2015 Rugby World Cup fast approaching, Last Word on Sports reporter Robert Mitchell looks back at how the participating nations have fared in the previous seven tournaments from the inaugural in 1987 to the most recent in 2011. Today’s focus is New Zealand, who have appeared at each of the seven previous Rugby World Cups.

Rugby World Cup History: New Zealand


New Zealand were co-hosts of the inaugural Rugby World Cup and joined the other six International Rugby Football Board members and the nine invited nations, in competing for the William Webb Ellis cup.

Drawn in Pool 3 with Argentina, Fiji and Italy, the All Blacks got off to a commanding start defeating Italy 70-6. New Zealand also crossed the 70 point mark in their second game, running out 74-13 winners against Fiji. A 46-15 win against Argentina secured top spot in the pool for the All Blacks and passage to the quarter finals.

Pool 4 runners up Scotland awaited New Zealand in the quarter finals, and the All Blacks advanced comfortably dispatching the Scots 30-3 to move on to the semi finals. A 49-6 win over Wales secured New Zealand’s place in the first ever Rugby World Cup final. Facing France in the final, the All Blacks ran out 29-9 winners over Les Bleus, as captain David Kirk lifted the trophy in front of the home fans in Auckland……read more here


Original article written by Robert Mitchell, in a series covering all 16 teams at the 2015 Rugby World Cup, England.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.